Natalie Goldberg Card #3

“I’m looking at…”

tinalear
4 min readJan 22, 2023
Author photo 2023

“This is my wish for you: that you take these cards, grab the topic on one side and write, write, write . . . Remember no good or bad. Just words on the page.” Natalie Goldberg. Each card in this world-renowned author and zen teacher’s deck contains a writing topic on one side and a short lesson on the reverse, delivered in her honest, heartfelt urgency.

I’m going through them one by one.

Today, the ‘nudge’ is this: “I’m looking at…”

So I’m looking at the mess I make of things. I’m talking about the actual quantifiable mess I make when I walk in the room. It’s astonishing.

For example, just now I came up from downstairs and am sitting on the couch. I’m waiting for the garbage guys so I can give them their annual bonus. Before I got here, this room was spotless. The couch was clear except for the neatly folded fuzzy fleece blanket on its right shoulder. (Ruby lays on it at the window, keeping us safe from people who walk by, children on their way to school, cars, squirells, deliveries and especially the letter carrier.)

Just the couch, two pillows, the folded blanket, and Elena’s hiking boots neatly placed, near the door.

--

--

tinalear

Novelist. Poet. Musician. Buddhist. Quilter. Animal lover. Visible grownup. Hidden child. Secret dancer when all alone. Makes good bread.