100 Days of Gladness: Day 27

NaPoWriMo: “Self Care with Raspberries”

tinalear
1 min readApr 21, 2024
image courtesy of stock.adobe.com

Blushing clutch of ruby drupelets,
a juicy marble with its soft,
first ever, three day
beard

explodes between my teeth
and into the world of my
cryptic mouth, full of
quiet joy, every time.

Every trip to the grocery store,
if I’m buying them, I never
buy just one. Always
two. Always.

One for the house, of course.

And one just for me.
A gift for my secret self, the one
I’ve taken care of all along,
all my life.

In the driver’s seat of my parked car,
we relish this covert gratuity
for the life we’ve lived
and known,

together,
and alone.

Tina Lear has written since she could hold a pencil. She’s completed four musicals with her long time collaborator, writer Elise Forier-Edie, taught yoga to inmates at Rikers Island, performed for thousands at Folk Festivals nationwide, and driven cattle in Wyoming. Check out her debut fantasy novel recently released, and her collection of poetry: Partial Views. If you want to interact with her about books, join her Website, Facebook Page, Instagram, and LinkedIn

--

--

tinalear

Novelist. Poet. Musician. Buddhist. Quilter. Animal lover. Visible grownup. Hidden child. Secret dancer when all alone. Makes good bread.